Merry Christmas!

Christmas Snowman

Christmas again!  Why is it that time seems to accelerate the older you get?  It can feel like that scene from Interstellar, when Matthew M and Anne H arrive back from what was for them a 24 hour excursion, but for the rest of the crew on the space station, 21 years had passed!   That is how time can feel at times, in a what seems like a blink, 21 years can pass!

In the past 21 years, my choices and attitude about Christmas and preparing for Christmas have changed, evolved.  I have always loved Christmas, and when I was younger, I was in hurry to get the tree up, decorated, outside lights up, and all my decorations up as quickly as possible.  And then as soon as Christmas day was over, the day after Christmas, I ripped it all down.  Chip! Chop! Christmas is over.  But I’ve mellowed over time, now when the season creeps up, sometimes I’m unsure if I’m even going to put up a tree, and did skip the whole decorating process one year.

I’ve decided with Christmas decorating, and with gardening or with home improvement projects or with drawing or painting, or with anything that is optional, that I won’t do it because I feel obligated, but because I enjoy the task.  I allow myself to slow down, enjoy the process.  These activities aren’t just about the end result, but the meandering path that I take to get there.  So my Christmas decorating happened somewhat on a whim.  when I felt like it, and if it didn’t get done, that was okay too.

Gregg was out of town on business, so Donovan and I decided after hockey practice to stop at Lowe’s and pick up a tree.  We put it on the tree stand together and ended up with crooked tree, which is just fine with me.  I started decorating with some help, but my family quickly loses interest. so I pulled out a couple of boxes of decorations, and after putting on the lights the first night, I put on decorations a little bit each night until I decided it was enough.

For a while, I had decided I wasn’t going to put up any outside lights or even a wreath on the door, but when driving home after dropping Donovan off at school following his orthodontist appointment, I saw Gull Lake Landscaping was open, they make beautiful wreaths, and other Christmas decor, so I pulled in and came home with a garland and greenery.  As time permitted or if an idea came to me, over the next few days I added lights, and other items.

Here is what we ended up with this year:

Front Porch

Sled with Window

These are all my carefully cropped pictures, where I cleaned up prior to taking the pictures, but in reality, my house looked like this most of the past week or so, as I wrapped presents, baked and prepared.

Reality

And I will leave everything up at least until after the New Year or until I decide that I feel like undecorating.

Merry Christmas!  Wishing you many Blessings in the New Year!

Because God’s children are human beings—made of flesh and blood—the Son also became flesh and blood. For only as a human being could he die, and only by dying could he break the power of the devil, who had the power of death. 15 Only in this way could he set free all who have lived their lives as slaves to the fear of dying.

  We also know that the Son did not come to help angels; he came to help the descendants of Abraham. 17 Therefore, it was necessary for him to be made in every respect like us, his brothers and sisters so that he could be our merciful and faithful High Priest before God. Then he could offer a sacrifice that would take away the sins of the people. 18 Since he himself has gone through suffering and testing, he is able to help us when we are being tested.

Hebrews 2:14–18

Leave a Reply

