Old Door = Big Smile

I don’t want to be all braggy, but I’ve been patting myself on the back quite a bit lately for the creative inspiration and follow through, on a project for Evan’s new room in the freshly finished basement.

We haven’t been able to park in the garage since spring, partly because I brought home what Gregg calls “junk” and what I like to refer to as “creative projects” and partly due to our contractor keeping his finish trim in there while he was working on the basement.

Now the weather is dipping down, sometimes into freezing levels, and the contractor has finished the trim and removed whatever was left over, so we have decided it is time to get our garage organized and make room for our cars again.  Which means, I need to put my money where my mouth is, and put some of my ideas into action in order to clear out the garage.  And that is what exactly what I did last weekend.  I had salvaged an old door from my first house, which was built in 1909, and my dad, who was tired of having it stored in his garage, brought it over to my garage this summer.  I didn’t know what I was going to do with it, but I couldn’t let it just get thrown out.

After googling and looking at what others did with old doors, such as, headboards, wall art, tables, and all the different ideas that many inventive people came up with, I came up with this one.  An accessory/jewelry organizer!!  Pretty clever, eh?  Evan is a fashionista, so she has a lot of bags, scarves, jewelry, belts, etc. so with some paint & decorative knobs and hooks that I picked up from a bin at World Market, I created this for her bedroom!!

I’m feeling like a creative genius this week!

Leave a Reply

